HomeResidentialCommercialGalleryReviewsAbout UsContact


Ben the Mason Reviews from Home Advisors

 

5.0   |  10-18-2016

Review by Paul S. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I called Ben the Mason to fix a crack in my front steps. He came out the same day to give me an estimate, and also recommended a few other minor fixes where he saw problems. The estimate seemed reasonable so we moved forward and he worked Saturday & Sunday to complete the job. It came out great. I would hire him again and I highly recommend him for your masonry needs.

 

4.5   |  10-04-2016

Review by Rich S. in Marblehead, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

All the positive reviews you have read about Ben The Mason are true, so I will not repeat them. He was a great find; do not hesitate to hire him - excellent work, great personality, fair price.

 

5.0   |  07-20-2016

Review by Sharon T. in Somerville, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben did a great job on our front steps. He came when he said he would and stayed with the job until it was complete. He did not leave to go to other jobs while he was working on our project. Our front steps were falling apart and looked terrible. Now they look too good for the house! I would highly recommend Ben the Mason.

 

5.0   |  07-18-2016

Review by Joseph/rita P. in Danvers, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

He was very prompt, always on time. Cleaned up well after himself and the stairs are beautiful.

 

5.0   |  06-29-2016

Review by a homeowner in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben completed the quality work the same day - I highly recommend him!

 

4.5   |  06-28-2016

Review by Donald G. in Danvers, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben was on time for 1st appointment. Was very pleasant and professional. Reviewed my project. He gave me alternate suggestions that saved a lot of extra work and money. Started the project the next morning and scheduled it out over 2 1/2 days. He did an extra adding 3 grants steps that finished the project, enhancing the whole project. The extra was reasonably priced.i need to call him back for a little finish work. Excellent overall work I would recommend him highly.

 

5.0   |  06-25-2016

Review by Lo R. in Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben is a true craftsman. He made a difficult project look easy. His price was very competitive He and his son made quick work of the job. It came out beautifully. He cleaned up after his work I would recommend him highly

 

5.0   |  06-20-2016

Review by Nancy K. in North Andover, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

Ben is a skilled mason who is both honest and hard-working. He called me back the same day that I called his service. And he came over to quote the job that very same day. He even came to the job prepared to work that same day. His prices are very fair and reasonable. I highly recommend Ben for all your masonry needs. You will be very happy that you chose Ben the Mason.

Response by Ben the Mason: Thank you Ben the Mason

 

5.0   |  06-17-2016

Review by Wayne S. in Salem, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Professional

 

5.0   |  06-08-2016

Review by Kristy P. in Saugus, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I would highly recommend Ben the Mason. He did a front porch for me and instead of doing inferior work using veneer like other contractors I interviewed, Ben cut every stone by hand to fit. He started the job the very next day and worked every day to complete the porch and had it done within a week. He even fixed my walkway at no charge. I would say Ben is the most honest contractor I have ever worked with. Being on a fixed income it was a pleasure to have someone that stayed true to his estimate and do a fantastic job. I would recommend him to everyone and I would hire him again in an instant.

 


5.0 
  |  05-27-2016

Review by Noreen M. in Boxford, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben repaired my crumbling front walkway, loose flagstones and stairs. His price was fair and he worked diligently on the job, start to finish without interruption. He is an honest, hardworking man. I would highly recommend him.

 

5.0   |  05-25-2016

Review by Margaret T. in Beverly, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I would not hesitate to recommend Ben the Mason. He replaced our front steps . He did an excellent job and was very informative as he worked. He's hardworking and reliable and i would hire him again.

 

5.0   |  05-18-2016

Review by Al D. in Andover, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben replaced two sets of outdoor crumbling front entrance brick and stone stairs. He performed this work on schedule and did an excellent job to include additional power washing and stone cleaning at no additional cost. Ben's work ethic resulted in his working late into the day and on weekends - highly unusual these days! I would highly recommend Ben to anyone in the area in need of high quality, professional masonry.

Response by : Thank you

 

5.0   |  05-17-2016

Review by Jan P. in Beverly, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben the Mason is smart, efficient and honest. His masonry work is the best! He came on a Sunday afternoon to dig out the old concrete in front of my house and by Tuesday afternoon he had completed the job which included getting rid of old concrete, putting in new concrete, field stones around garden, cement pad for a memorial bench next to my Little Free Library and repointed the granite steps. Thank you BEN THE MASON

 

5.0   |  05-14-2016

Review by Carmelo L. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair a Concrete Foundation

Ben re-pointed the field stone foundation of my home and a room where the heating system is located. "Fantastic job" He completed the job in less then four days. "That's incredible". I would Recommend him for any mason jobs

 

5.0   |  05-09-2016

Review by Julia M. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben repaired my crumbling interior brick walls. He did an excellent job. He did it really quickly for a good price. I would highly recommend this company.

 

5.0   |  05-06-2016

Review by William N. in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

The previous review was not correct, i gave Ben the Mason a 5.0 rating in all categories. Ben is a hard working person who does the work of 5 people. Ben has worked for me late into the evening and even has worked at my home on Saturday and Sunday to complete the work in short amount of time. You will be very satisfied with the quality work and knowledge of his craft Please update my previous review with this accurate one. thank you.

 

5.0   |  05-06-2016

Review by David H. in North Andover, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben is old school. He knows his stuff. He is a family man and is easy to talk too. Gets the job done in a very timely manner and does not BS you with anything. He is 100% honest and his work is superior. His prices are good and fair. The steps Ben had to repair for me where cheaply done before by whomever did it. Even after we agreed upon price and he had demolished the old steps, he took the time to go to the rubble and show me the how the old step was constructed on the inside. I'm glad I know I now have a great Mason to turn too in the future for any future work that comes up.

 

5.0   |  05-05-2016

Review by William N. in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

I have hired Ben the Mason more than once because I am always satisfied with the quality of his work. he did an excellent job in repairing my brick walkway.

 

5.0   |  04-29-2016

Review by Tara K. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

We needed someone to repair our slate steps leading into our house when realized that they had deteriorated and became loose beyond safe use over the winter. My husband called Ben and he came out right away to take a look. He gave us a very fair quote on the spot and was back to work within a few days. Working with Ben was a great experience! Ben was very professional, worked quickly and diligently to get the job done right and on schedule. His prices are extremely fair and he went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with the results. We highly recommend him for any masonry job you might have. We will certainly call him again!

 

 

5.0   |  04-28-2016

Review by Karl B. in South Hamilton, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben is a quality-conscious mason and a very hard worker. I wanted an extension to my patio-walkaway, but he was not happy with the existing patio's condition, so he took it upon himself to bring it up to the level of quality so that it would match the new extension, at the cost of materials only. When Ben arrived to survey the job, he gave an immediate quote and scheduled the next day to work. Fast! And great to get it done without waiting for an opening in his schedule.

 

5.0   |  04-24-2016

Review by Kati M. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

I cannot say enough great things about Ben's work. We were in a pinch getting our house on the market and Ben quickly repaired our slate stairs in a timely and well done fashion. He gave us a quote that was more than reasonable and began work that day. We will definitely keep him in mind if we need help with our future home.

 

4.5   |  04-12-2016

Review by Jim C. in Rowley, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Very courteous and prompt service and work quality was very good

 

5.0   |  04-09-2016

Review by Ron M. in Beverly, MA

Project: Waterproof a Basement or Foundation

Ben showed up at my home just a few hours after I contacted Homeadvisor, at around 5 PM. He gave me a fair price on the spot - no BS. Then performed the repair IMMEDIATLY. He left my home around 7 after doing a very professional job. Though my project was a small concrete wall waterproofing one, I can say with confidence that Ben is a profession and capable of both small and midsize masonry projects. Ron M.

 

5.0   |  04-04-2016

Review by Joan P.

Project: Install Ceramic or Porcelain Tile- For Business

i would like to thank Ben the mason i was not as prepared as i should have been for him when he came to tile my bathroom floor he was so gracious and professional a 10 out of 10 thank you Ben

Response by : Thank you

5.0   |  03-26-2016

Review by Ed S. in Andover, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Exceptional work by Ben. He provided a quote the day after my request on Home Advisor. He started as soon as the weather allowed. Did exactly as we had agreed to at the price and schedule as quoted. Best of all his workmanship is top notch He did repairs on my chimney and walkway.. Cleaned up after. Would highly recommend Ben for any masonry work.

 

4.5   |  03-18-2016

Review by Kent S. in Danvers, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben was prompt, courteous, and conscientious in his work. He seemed to go beyond just the minimal to make sure the work was done well. I'll likely call upon him again for work in the future.

 

5.0   |  03-16-2016

Review by Tom G. in Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben called me within a day of posting on Home Adviser, met me the next day and started work on that Sunday AM. He explained my options and did not try and oversell me on unnecessary repairs that would have cost far more than it did. I highly recommend him to take care of your masonry needs.

Response by : Thank you Tom, The pleasure is mine Ben

 

5.0   |  03-15-2016

Review by Joe L. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Working with Ben was a phenomenal experience! My wife and I needed the steps to the front of our house replaced and Ben worked quickly and diligently to get the job done right and on schedule. His prices are very fair and he went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with the results. Highly recommend him because of his skill-set and professionalism!

Response by : Thank you Joe,

 

5.0   |  01-05-2016

Review by Shawn H. in Danvers, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

I am writing this letter on behalf of Ben the Mason. We would like to personally commend Ben and all the members of his team on a job very well done on our basement and foundation. I have worked with many contractors in the past, but have never met a more trustworthy, professional, accommodating, and friendlier group. Ben came recommended from a good friend who is a contractor himself, and he assured me that Ben was the best in the business…and we couldn't agree more. People who truly understand masonry will appreciate his expertise and the amazing work he completed on our home. We own a very old Colonial in Danvers (built circa 1790), and both the foundation and basement were in dire need of repair. Our foundation was starting to separate, and you could clearly see areas of daylight from inside our basement. Ben came to our home twice to evaluate the job – once at night and once during the day – to be sure he got thorough understanding of how much work our home needed. He gave us an honest assessment, clearly explaining everything he wanted to do and why it should be done. At first, I was unsure that this would be completed before Christmas given the enormous amount of work that needed to be done. Not only was it completed much quicker than we thought possible, it was completed on time, on budget, and in the most undisruptive manner. We were often communicated to regarding any changes, and we were updated on progress daily. My family and I began to look at the team as "one of us" as we became on a first name basis. In addition to his quality work, he made sure to cleanup thoroughly each and every day. We can't say enough about this team and what they did for us. Our foundation and basement are not only completely repaired; they match our home perfectly – as if they had always looked that way. In addition, Ben himself painstakingly restored our fireplace in our living room, which was no small task. And again, the quality of his work is beyond compare. Ben truly cares about his work, and not only is that immediately apparent, it simply cannot be overstated. We recommend Ben the Mason without reservation, and look forward to the pleasure of working with him again.

Response by : Thank You!!!!!!

 


5.0 
  |  11-09-2015

Review by Carole H. in Topsfield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben was very punctual and very professional. He provides quality workmanship at a vey fair price. I would recommend his masonry to anyone.

Response by : Thank you !

 

5.0   |  11-09-2015

Review by Carole H. in Topsfield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben was very friendly, he was punctual, and the work was wonderful- thank you!

Response by : Thank you Carole

 

5.0   |  11-06-2015

Review by David P. in Beverly, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

We have a stone foundation house built in the 1880s. Somewhere along the line of ownership the foundation was parged so it trapped moisture in the walls and caused the mortar and the parge to crumble creating a super dusty basement. The field stone needed to be cleaned off and repointed. I called about a dozen companies and they either didn't return my calls or just try and sell me something I wasn't interested in. Ben came on time within 24 hours and gave me a reasonable price for what I wanted done. He didn't try to sell me a water proofing system or anything else. He gave me a quote for what I wanted done. Called him the next day and he told me he could start the next week. He was professional and always responded to any questions I may have had within 24 hours. They finished the job in 3 days and went above and beyond what was expected. Now my field stone basement looks less Silence of the Lamby to more like Old Castley. Can not recommend Ben and his team enough!

Response by : Thank you

 

5.0   |  10-20-2015

Review by Madeline P. in Brewster, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I can't recommend Ben highly enough. He is a superb craftsman and a fine and honest gentleman. Ben came to my house Saturday. He explained how he could repair and rebuild my front brick and stone front stairs. He also showed me what he was going to do to repair the walls. Both were for a very fair price. Ben worked all day Sunday completing the repairs to both walls as well as most of the demolition of the stairs. It is now Tuesday and the steps will be finished tomorrow ,Wednesday. They look exceptional. Ben made sure to keep me informed as to what he was doing every step of the way. I would unhesitatingly recommend Ben for any masonry work someone needed.

 

5.0   |  10-01-2015

Review by Maryann E. in Middleton, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

I highly recommend Ben. He is professional and very friendly, He showed up when he said he would, completed the job that day, and cleaned everything up completely. He studied the problem very carefully - we had a set of granite steps and a brick walkway slip out of place from water damage. He reset the steps in concrete and reworked the walkway to fit back in. He understood why they had slipped, and took the effort to solve the problem that two other companies hadn't seen. His price was very fair, and his work was meticulous. I would definitely hire him again.

 

5.0   |  10-01-2015

Review by Jackie S. in Danvers, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

After several other companies either did not return my call or felt the job was too small, I found Ben through a google search - and it proved to be the best thing that could have happened! He was very accommodating, giving an estimate on Saturday - and began the work prep the next day. He took time to walk through exactly what he would do to not only complete the job as agreed, but also to ensure quality and safety. Ben is highly skilled at his trade, and clearly has the customers best interest at heart. I had steps that were literally falling apart each year with the winter freeze, and ultimately were unsafe. In just 2 1/2 days, Ben completely redid the steps with limestone treads - they not only look terrific, but they are safe and likely to last many many years. I would highly recommend Ben the Mason, he and is team are true professionals and do fantastic high quality work!!!!

 

5.0   |  09-30-2015

Review by Jackie S. in Danvers, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I called Ben on very short notice, and he quickly accommodated my schedule to do an estimate. Made recommendations that would provide me with attractive and safe entry to my home by rebuilding brick steps and adding limestone treads. He gave me a time frame, then showed up exactly when he said he would - working until late in the evening to complete the job before the weather turned rainy. He explained in detail exactly what he would be doing to improve the quality of my front steps, which really made me confident in the work he was doing. The result is amazing!!! The steps not only look fantastic, but it is clear that they are solid and will last for many years to come. Ben and his team do terrific, high quality, on time work at a reasonable price - I would highly recommend them for any project!!! Very pleased with the outcome!

 

5.0   |  09-30-2015

Review by David H. in Middleton, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben is a skilled craftsman and a professional. He responded to my request immediately. I had several other quotes for the work for the stairs and a 50 foot wall prior to meeting with Ben. He took the time to walk through his approach and process to do the repairs. This conversation gave me the confidence that he was the right man for the job. He finished the work on time and on budget and did a magnificent job. He also did additional work to repair my walkway which was a nice surprise. If you are in the need for masonry work contact Ben, you will be happy you did.

 

5.0   |  09-27-2015

Review by Barry S. in Lynnfield, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

I highly recommend Ben. He showed up on time to give me an estimate and ended up fixing the problem on the spot for a very reasonable price. Very courteous and professional.

 

5.0   |  09-25-2015

Review by David H. in Middleton, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben is a consummate professional, not only is he he very skilled at his craft, he's prompt, reliable, fair and very trustworthy. A five star rating is not enough....Ben's a ten in our book. Ben repaired both front stairs to my house, they look brand new. He also repaired a 50 foot stone wall that was in very bad condition. Ben took the time to explain how the wall should be repaired and the process he would take. The wall now is very secure and my stairs look great. I can not recommend this man's services enough - if your looking for masonry work - you need to hire this man!

 


5.0 
  |  09-21-2015

Review by Carol H. in Salem, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben is a true professional. He responded immediately and gave me a quote on the spot. He explained what needed to be done and finished the job in four days. Ben even did some additional work to prevent anymore water damage to my home. My front steps look amazing and I couldn't be happier with the job! Ben is professional, polite and works quickly and cleanly. The quality of his work is superior. I would highly recommend him.

 

5.0   |  09-11-2015

Review by a homeowner in Gloucester, MA

Project: Repair a Brick or Stone Fireplace

Excellent work. Fair price. Nice guy. Will hire again.

 

5.0   |  09-08-2015

Review by a homeowner in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben was very quick to respond for our request to fix the retaining wall. The quality of Ben's work is excellent, and he not only did the job that we agreed upon, but also some extra work. I would highly recommend him. North Andover, September, 2015.

 

5.0   |  09-06-2015

Review by Neal R. in Swampscott, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

I was very appreciative of the quality of Ben's work. He responded immediately and came right over to give an estimate. Project took 3days and was top notch. Ben did what was asked and more. He rebuilt a wall, pointed a huge section, repaired crumbling stairs, and as an extra, pointed up my foundation! Excellent job.

 

5.0   |  08-27-2015

Review by Andrew M. in Salem, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben was great! He came over the day I called to look at the project and was able to give me an electronic quote that evening. As soon as the insurance money came through, Ben was ready to start! We had a car drive into the back wall of our garage (made of cinder blocks) He began on Monday with demolition, and he also assisted us with cleaning out the work area (storage bins and misc storage) prior to starting, which he certainly didn't have to, but did anyway. Now it's Thursday, and its ALL DONE! A job that I thought would easily take 2-3 weeks, he completed in 3 days. I FULLY recommend Ben for any Masonry work needed in the North Shore area, you will not be disappointed. I will most definitely be using his services in the future.

 

5.0   |  08-23-2015

Review by Cam H. in Essex, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben repaired our brick foundation and chimney as well as fixed and patched up the brick and stones in our basement. Not only is Ben's customer service above and beyond what we had expected, he does amazing quality work and on great time. After he finished his meticulous work, we were so impressed that we are now coming up with additional projects where we will bring Ben in as our preferred masonry provider. We'd recommend Ben to anyone who is looking for a high quality and honest professional mason.

 

5.0   |  08-17-2015

Review by a homeowner in South Hamilton, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben takes pride in hes work and does a fabulous job.

 

5.0   |  08-15-2015

Review by Greg D. in Topsfield, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben gave a fair price. He completed the job in a very timely manner and it was done very professionally. His work is excellent. I would recommend him to family and friends who are looking for an honest and professional mason.

 

5.0   |  08-01-2015

Review by Fran D. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

We hired Ben to rebuild our front steps. His price was more than reasonable and he actually did a bit of extra work that he saw needed to be repaired. Ben is a responsible and ethical worker. His work was meticulous and looked absolutely gorgeous when finished. We could not have asked for a better mason, have recommended him to others, and would definitely hire him again.

Response by : Thank you for your review

 

5.0   |  07-27-2015

Review by Charles P. in Beverly, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

I hired Arben after observing him up on a lift rebuilding a chimney across the street. It was beautiful work. I met Arben and the quote he gave me for both my chimneys was unbelievable. The work was exceptional and I've since hired Arben to do tile, basement, stone and foundation work at both our rental properties. Beyond his work ethic and pricing being exceptional, Arben's character is something to be admired. He is honest, kind, thorough and thoughtful. I have recommended Arben on many occasions and will continue to do so with confidence.

 


5.0 
  |  07-24-2015

Review by Susan P. in Boxford, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

We hired Ben to replace our front porch and steps with bluestone and brick risers. He also repaired our two side porches. Ben did a terrifc job on all and completed the project as promised - in fact, a day early! He is a craftsman and very meticulous with his work. We were extremely happy with the end result and highly recommend to others.

 

5.0   |  07-22-2015

Review by John S. in Danvers, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

Ben was a total professional. He showed up 20 minutes after the phone call to look at the job. He said he could start and finish the job the next day. Ben re-pointed my granite front steps and resurfaced my foundation where I closed off a basement window. But he resurfaced the entire side of the foundation so it wouldn't look like a patch job. The job came out so good my wife is going to want the rest of the foundation done... thanks Ben! I recommend Ben for any masonry work. I will hire him again. Excellent job!

 

5.0   |  07-15-2015

Review by John P. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

We hired Ben to do some extensive repointing of our 6-step, 7 foot wide front staircase which was suffering from many cracks and gaps in the masonry. Ben also expertly repaired cracks in two of the concrete treads and did a deep cleaning and repointing of a second set of stairs and then waterproofed both stairs. Lastly, he skim-coated our exposed front foundation to cover some chips and cracks. Everything looks great! Ben is a true craftsman with a work ethic that is all too rare these days. He completed our job over five days as promised and at the quoted price, which we found to be competitive. His pride in his work is such that he enjoys explaining his technique and materials to the customer. And he is courteous to a fault. We like so many homeowners realize that you sometimes can only hope for the best when you hire a contractor these days. We feel we got the best in Ben the Mason and would recommend him to others without reservation.

 

5.0   |  07-13-2015

Review by Dossy P. in Cambridge, MA

Project: Waterproof a Basement or Foundation

Ben is an incredible mason. He does the job fast and perfectly. He is a joy to work with and is very reasonable. I highly recommend him. He laid a concrete floor in our basement and it is fantastic and he also did some brick work and it is beautiful. I am so happy to know I can call Ben for future projects and he will do a great job for me. Thank you, Ben.

 

5.0   |  07-12-2015

Review by Janet D. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben The Mason put in new front stairs on our home. He was courteous, professional and did a beautiful job. He stayed on the job site until it was finished and kept a very clean work area. I found with other people we have hired they have a couple of jobs going at once and may or may not show up one day. Ben was here every day early and stayed until the job was done. We have gotten many compliments on our stairs. I would refer him to anyone. Excellent job!

 

5.0   |  06-06-2015

Review by Joann W. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben was professional, polite and personable. He did excellent work in redoing my brick stairs. The work was done in a timely manner and he explained things as he went along. I am very happy with my new stairs and would recommend Ben without hesitation.

 

5.0   |  05-21-2015

Review by Jay P. in Medford, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Excellent workmanship, at a fair price and on time. Above and beyond what we had hoped for and would definitly use again. Highly recommend to anyone looking for any type of masonry work. We had pointing stone chiminey waterproofing, also walkway repair. Five stars

 

5.0   |  05-15-2015

Review by Carolyn V. in Peabody, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben not only helped repair a broken, a fully-cracked step, and a partly-cracked step (3 total) around the ledge of our pool, but he repaired the cracks in our limestone and brick front stairs to avoid further water damage for at least a few more years (hopefully more!). He is honest and hard-working, and it is evident that he knows exactly what he is talking about. My parents hired him first, who then recommended him to me immediately. I also highly recommend.

 

5.0   |  05-08-2015

Review by Robert P. in Salem, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Did very nice job . Very satisfied

 

5.0   |  04-29-2015

Review by a homeowner in Lynnfield, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Ben was great. Got the work done in a timely fashion with minimal mess. He repaired our brick stairs and even patched any additional cracks he noticed for no additional cost. He personally guaranteed his work for 6 years as well.

 


5.0 
  |  04-28-2015

Review by a homeowner in Beverly, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

We used Ben The Mason to repoint our chimney and front steps. Ben was courteous, pleasant, on time (as promised) and customer oriented. The result was fine workmanship at an affordable price and included waterproffing. We would hire him again.

 

5.0   |  04-13-2015

Review by Todd G. in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Excellent work at a fair price. Ben explained what he did. He was courteous and thorough. He left my driveway cleaner than it was. I would recommend him to all my family and friends.

Response by : Thank you

 

5.0   |  04-11-2015

Review by Dennis R. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

The front steps to house needed to be replaced. We wanted the stairs to look nice because they are highly visible. We hired Ben to build new stairs with stone risers and blue stone treads. We found Ben to be an expert mason - very thorough, professional and talented. He built stairs that will last forever. He also repaired a wall that was not part of the project. I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing masonry work - reasonable rates and highly professional.

 

5.0   |  04-06-2015

Review by Al D. in Danvers, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben came recommended from a friend in the contracting circle. I was looking for a honest assessment of our front stairs. Ben explained how they were constructed and his recommendation. Two days later we had our beautiful brick and granite stairs. His customer service is outstanding and in addition to his quality work, his cleanup is outstanding - you wouldn't know he had been there.

 

5.0   |  04-05-2015

Review by June P. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben came to estimate repair to my front steps He was reasonable, economical, polite, and immediately did the job as I was worried about falling on the broken brick, he took the time to do the job immediately, I would definitely recommend him for an excellent job

Response by : Thank you for your for taking time to write this review. Ben the Mason

 

5.0   |  03-31-2015

Review by Joseph S. in Boxford, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

I am now in day two of the project and I know that I have made the right decision. Ben was absolutely perfect from our first meeting through his initial work and I'm sure that I am going to be extremely happy with the job once complete. I will make further comments as soon as we are finished re-fabricating my front staircase. Update: Job Completed Well, the job is now complete and what can I say! Not only does it meet my hopes and expectations but far surpass them! Ben is a Master. From day one, he did everything promised and more. A true artisan. A pro's pro. Starting from the beginning, Ben was very competitive in his quote, explained everything he was going to do and did it with precision. Wouldn't it be great if all our contractors met the standards set by this terrific provider!

Response by : Thank you Ben The Mason

 

5.0   |  03-27-2015

Review by Gary B. in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

BEN HANDLED IT ALL PERSONALLY, A REAL PROFESSIONAL. DID THE WORK AS AGREED. ON TIME. AND THE STONE WALL CAME OUT AMAZING. BETTER THAN I ANTICIPATED. HE CLEANED UP AFTER. WHAT A FINE JOB AT A REASONABLE PRICE, THIS MAN IS HONEST AND HAS REAL PRIDE IN HIS WORK . O RECOMMEND HIM TO ANYONE THAT WANTS MASONARY WORK DONE, HE'S THE BEST.

Response by : Thank you

 

5.0   |  11-26-2014

Review by Michael V. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben the Mason was amazing! We hired him to install iron railings in an existing granite stairway. He came over to provide a quote and said he could do it right away and was done within a couple of hours at an extremely reasonable price. The work was high quality and he was a very kind man who clearly has lots of experience and loves what he does. I will definitely be using him in the future for other masonry work.

 

5.0   |  10-14-2014

Review by a homeowner in Salem, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben the mason completed my front stairs quickly and professionally. They are beautiful. His original quote was right on and it was a fair price. I highly recommend him. 20 plus years of experience is clear.

Response by : Thank you Ben The Mason

 

5.0   |  10-09-2014

Review by Jack R. in Middleton, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

I would recommend "Ben the Mason" to everyone!!! I called Ben for an estimate on a chimney rebuild, he came that afternoon. He told me what should be done, how long it would take, and quoted me a good price. I called a week later to let Ben know that he had the job, if he wanted it. That same afternoon, the chimney was down, removed, and cleaned up. The next day it was 98% built. The next morning, job completed, Ben even installed a new chimney cap for us. Great workmanship, prompt, clean, and polite!!

 

5.0   |  09-27-2014

Review by Densie M. in Danvers, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Ben the mason completed my front steps and did an excellent job. He did what he said he would do when he said he would do it. He is a very hard worker and skilled at his craft. Denise

 

5.0   |  09-22-2014

Review by John P. in Cambridge, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing - For Business

Ben did an excellent job at a good price, and he's great to work with. Highly recommended.

 

5.0   |  09-14-2014

Review by Margaret N. in Ipswich, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben has been wonderful to work with. His prices are fair . When the job got more involved then expected, he was very thorough in explaining what needed to be done. He was very fair in priceing the additional work. Ben is also very professional . If I could, I would have given him more than 5 stars. I would defiantly recommend him if you need masonry work to be done.

 

4.5   |  08-29-2014

Review by Kathryn B. in Beverly, MA

Project: Install a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

We hired Ben to replace our chimney from the roof line up. Ben was at our house when he said he would be and communicated his schedule to us so we knew what to expect. Ben said it would take 2 1/2 days and he finished the project on schedule. Since this was a summer roof project, he worked early in the morning and late in the afternoon to avoid the hottest hours of the day. We would recommend Ben for any chimney work!

Response by : Thank you

 

5.0   |  08-11-2014

Review by Peter J. in Beverly, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

Superb experience dealing with Ben the Mason. A rating of 5 is not high enough. Installed rock and grainite front steps. Superior work ethic. Insures complete customer satisfaction. I recommended Ben for two other projects. Both projects completed with complete satisfaction. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend Ben for your project.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  08-04-2014

Review by Rebecca R. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Ben repaired a retaining wall and chimney at our house. His workmanship was excellent and the price was reasonable. He was great to work withand completed the work as scheduled. We had originally called him about new front steps and he professionally made a recommendation that would be more cost effective for us than a full replacement of the steps. We appreciated his honesty and integrity.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  07-02-2014

Review by Johnson L. in Wakefield, MA

Project: Install a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

Wow!!! Ben is totally amazing. He was very easy to deal and showed up to work on time. He was quick to respond when I had any questions. The finished project went way better than I imagined. The project was finished on time without sacrificing quality. He went above and beyond for our project and I will definitely use him again.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  06-02-2014

Review by Khouri R. in Beverly, MA

Project: Install Brick or Stone Patios, Walks, and Steps

I found Ben to be exceptional, not only in his masonry expertise but his business dealings. When Ben said he would be there, he was. When Ben said he would call he did. His dealings with his customers is absolutely top-notch and professional. He is building an extraordinary reputation for his company. The new front stairs are superb. Beautifully crafted to match the vision we have for the house. I cannot recommend Ben enough.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  05-25-2014

Review by Paula S. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

He is the kind of professional you will want to hire! He is prompt, reliable, fair, trustworthy, and has great work ethic. He was at my home ten minutes after he called me and gave me more than reasonable estimate. His craftsmanship and skills are outstanding. When he completed the job he had mortar left and asked me if I had anything else I needed repaired. He found a corner of my foundation that had a chunk missing from it and he made look like new. I guess he figured the material belonged to me so he didn't want to waste it. That's the kind of guy he is. I'd hire him again.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  04-29-2014

Review by Ann C. in Cambridge, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

Ben went above & beyond with his work-- great job!

Response by : thank you

 


5.0 
  |  03-13-2014

Review by James H. in Peabody, MA

Project: Repair Brick or Stone Flatwork

Excellent repair work. Great guys.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  02-10-2014

Review by Toni ann E. in Gloucester, MA

Project: Repair Ceramic or Porcelain Tile

He came to my house a half hour after I hung the phone up and started te job the next morning.He repaired a shower floor and wall. .He was so trustworthy ,I could leave my house while he worked. He is so acommidating and wants to do the best job possible. This summer , if I'm able to, I wouldn't hesitate to have him put a walkway down for me!

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  12-22-2013

Review by Mike H. in Middleton, MA

Project: Clean Gutters and Downspouts

Ben was very professional. He showed up and completed the work in the time that he said he would. And to speak to his integrity, there was a gutter that wasn't visible behind a tree and he accidentally missed it when he was there. When I called him about it he went right back to the house and cleaned it. I would hire him again without question. We need more people like this in the world.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  12-06-2013

Review by Tammy R. in Salem, MA

Project: Repair Ceramic or Porcelain Tile

I was able to reach this business owner immediately for questions, and he made the time to come to my house the same day for a price quote. His price was reasonable for the work required (I estimated a price and he quoted the same price I thought was fair for the work). He was able to do the job right away, leaving the wall restored to perfection. I was very grateful for his expertise, skill, and work ethic. Very happy to support a skilled worker who runs his own business so well. Glad to give the business to a man who appreciates the work and takes pride in the work he does. Good man to hire!

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  12-05-2013

Review by Jane F. in Lynnfield, MA

Project: Clean Gutters and Downspouts

I spoke with Ben and made an appointment. He arrived promptly, was very courteous and diligent. He did the best job ever cleaning my gutters. I will definitely use him again.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  10-06-2013

Review by David W. in Beverly, MA

Project: Repair Ceramic or Porcelain Tile

High confidence in Masonry skills. Provided guidance on how to avoid major problems later. Fair and reasonable. Hard working and accomodated my project schedule. Already thinking about using him on another project.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  08-28-2013

Review by John S. in Newburyport, MA

Project: Brick or Stone Tuck-Pointing

Project: repointing the entire 3-storey end wall of a brick house, where mortar was severely decayed after decades of receiving nor'east rain and wind. Ben the Mason stuck to schedule; worked hard; matched color; waterproof coating afterwards. Satisfied.

Response by : thank you

Was this review helpful?   Yes No

5.0   |  06-02-2013

Review by Carolyn K. in Peabody, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

I had a railing fall off and damaged the brick stairs. I called Ben the Mason at 8:00 pm on Tuesday night. He came down within the half hour (8:30 pm) and review the damage and gave me the estimate. He had the stairs fully repaired by Friday afternoon. It was not a little job, my brick stairs were in need of a lot of repair. My stairs now look brand new. His workmanship and quality is excellent. I highly recommend him for any masonry work you may need.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  05-30-2013

Review by a homeowner in North Reading, MA

Project: Repair Natural Stone Tile

Ben was courteous, prompt and customer friendly from the moment we spoke on the phone. He came onsite, gave me a fair estimate and completed the job on time and on budget. I would definitely recommend him for another project. Thank you.

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  05-14-2013

Review by Nicole L. in Ipswich, MA

Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall

I highly recommend Ben, he is very friendly, hard working and does a great job. He went above and beyond to fix a problem wall that was poorly constructed prior to my purchase of the house. As years went by critters moved into the wall including snakes. I?m deathly afraid of them and tried everything to get rid of them with no luck. That?s when I found Ben, he put me at ease by sealing every hiding place and he has made me not afraid of my wall anymore. Very thankful

Response by : thank you

 

5.0   |  03-28-2013

Review by William N. in North Andover, MA

Project: Repair Ceramic or Porcelain Tile

repaired and replaced full wall of ceramic tile in two bathrooms that had come away from the wall. He did a great job and did the work within one week as I requested. I would absolutely hire him again for another project. I am totally satisfied

Response by : thank you

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

 

5.0   |  03-13-2013

Review by Charles P.

Project: Install a Brick or Stone Fireplace

Ben is very courteous, fast an meticulous, he was able to provide a price lower than his competitors and he is the nicest and most respectful pro we have worked with

Response by : thank you

5.0   |  03-05-2013

Review by Dick G.

Project: Install Brick or Stone Driveways & Floors

I have been working with him for years. Very hardworking. Can not think of any other company I would give a higher recommendation to! Brings his experience to the table, very straightforward. Very trustworthy. Great quality work!

Response by : thank you